Office of the President May 2, 2017

Members, Board of Trustees:

UNIVERSITY RESEARCH PROFESSORSHIPS

<u>Recommendation:</u> that the Board of Trustees approve the naming of the individuals on the attached Exhibit I as University Research Professors for 2017-18.

<u>Background:</u> The University Research Professorships were established by the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees in 1976 to recognize outstanding research achievements by members of its faculty.

The <u>2015-2020 Strategic Plan</u> for Research has an overall objective to expand scholarship, creative endeavors, and research across the full range of disciplines to focus on the most important challenges of the Commonwealth. Strategic Initiatives to achieve this overall objective include investing in and recognizing areas of scholarly excellence, and recruiting and retaining outstanding faculty, staff, and students.

To align with the overall objective for Research within the <u>2015-2020 Strategic Plan</u>, the revised University Research Professors Program recognizes excellence across the full spectrum of research, scholarship, and creative endeavors within each college. College leadership developed criteria for excellence in research and scholarly activity within their area of expertise, and then nominated faculty who exceled at these criteria. The purpose of the revised University Research Professorship program is to recognize and publicize research accomplishments of these scholars across the full range of disciplines at the University of Kentucky.

W				
Action taken:	✓ Approved	☐ Disapproved	Other	

Exhibit I

Name College and Department

Ole Wendroth College of Agriculture, Food and Environment

Plant and Soil Sciences

Ramesh S. Bhatt College of Arts and Sciences

Psychology

Abigail Firey College of Arts and Sciences

History

J. David Johnson College of Communication and Information

Communication

Gregory A. Luhan College of Design

School of Architecture

Lisa A. Ruble College of Education

Educational, School and Counseling Psychology

I. S. Jawahir College of Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Ebony G. Patterson College of Fine Arts

School of Art and Visual Studies

David M. Hardesty Gatton College of Business and Economics

Marketing and Supply Chain

Charlotte A. Peterson College of Health Sciences

Rehabilitation Sciences

Melynda J. Price College of Law

Bradley K. Taylor College of Medicine

Physiology

Matthew S. Gentry College of Medicine

Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry

Terry A. Lennie College of Nursing

Jeffery C. Talbert College of Pharmacy

Pharmacy Practice and Science

Glen P. Mays

College of Public Health

Health Management and Policy