MINUTES

Meeting of the Nominating Committee Board of Trustees University of Kentucky September 4, 2007, 1:00 p.m. Board Room, 18th Floor Patterson Office Tower

Mr. Frank Shoop called the Nominating Committee to order at 1:00 p.m and called the roll. Attending the meeting were Frank Shoop (Chair), Dermontti Dawson, Erwin Roberts, and Ernie Yanarella. Mr. Shoop stated that there was a full committee present.

Other Board members in attendance were Jeff Dembo, Nick Phelps, Myra Tobin, and Russ Williams. Members of the media were also present.

Mr. Shoop said that the minutes of the December 12, 2007 meeting had been distributed to the committee. He asked if there were any additions or corrections to the minutes. Mr. Dawson made a motion to approve the minutes. His motion was seconded by Mr. Roberts and carried without dissent.

Mr. Shoop said the next item on the agenda was the Nomination of Officers. He reminded the members that he had sent an e-mail to the Board asking for their suggestions. He reported that he did not receive a reply from every Board member. Based on the replies that he did receive, he put forth the following slate of officers for consideration. The slate for officers was as follows:

Steve Branscum, Chair Mira Ball, Vice Chair Pam May, Secretary

Mr. Dawson moved that the nominations be approved. Mr. Roberts seconded his motion. A discussion followed with an exchange of questions and answers. Mr. Shoop noted that the individuals being nominated had agreed to serve if elected by the Board.

Mr. Dawson read the following e-mail from Jeff Dembo to the Board and asked that it be included in the Minutes of the meeting:

"Frank – when we spoke last year, I indicated to you that I had some strong feelings about the Board leadership. However, in view of some of last year's circumstances, I also indicated I'd be pleased to support Jim H's renomination for another year. That was last year, and now a new year is upon us.

As you know, Frank, I have very strong feelings about diversity at every level of the University. Just as UK has never had a woman president, UK has (to the best of my knowledge) never had a woman as Board Chair. We are well into the 21st century and yet we continue to make decisions about people and positions

consistent with the values of the 1960's. I believe we have several very well-qualified women who could ably serve us as Chair. I am particularly struck with Mira Ball's ability to think broadly, fairly, and rationally. The manner in which she handled the Governing Regulations changes was exemplary – she led the group effectively, asked good and probing questions, and was able to develop a consensus among the committee members. I also believe she has the respect of her fellow Board members for her contributions to the Board.

I have not personally asked Mira if she would like to serve as Chair. However, it has been my experience that sometimes those who are best-qualified will only step up to the plate when it appears that their presence is sought by many, not just by one or two. Therefore, I ask the Nominations Committee to place Mira on the ballot for the position of Chair.

For Vice Chair and Secretary, I nominate Phil Patton and Pam May, respectively. I believe they both have the insights and wisdom to also help effectively lead the Board.

Thanks for passing this along to the Committee, Frank.

Jeff"

Following the reading of Dr. Dembo's e-mail, Dr. Dembo continued to express his concern about the diversity issue to the committee, mentioning the kind of messages that the Board would be sending to the community about diversity if the names submitted went forward to the Board. In his opinion, it would be hypocritical for the committee to submit the proposed list of names to the Board.

Mr. Shoop called for a vote, and the vote carried. Dr. Yanarella voted against the names going forward to the Board.

Mr. Shoop said that Barbara Jones' name would be submitted for Assistant Secretary because she is on campus.

Mr. Shoop said that the next item on the agenda was nomination of members of the Executive Committee. He submitted the following names for consideration to serve on the Executive Committee:

Steve Branscum, Chair Mira Ball James Hardymon Myra Tobin Billy Wilcoxson Pam May, ex officio Mr. Dawson moved approval of the nominations. Mr. Roberts seconded Mr. Dawson's motion, and it passed. Dr. Yanarella voted against the nominations going forward to the Board.

A discussion followed about the Nominating Committee's process in soliciting nominations. Mr. Williams said that others should be given opportunities to serve in leadership positions. Mr. Shoop said that could be considered next year.

Mr. Shoop reported that he would present the nominations for Officers and Executive Committee members to the full Board at its September 11 meeting.

As there was no other business, Mr. Dawson moved that the meeting adjourn. Mr. Roberts seconded the motion, and the meeting adjourned at 1:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Frank Shoop Chair