MINUTES

Meeting of the Nominating Committee Board of Trustees University of Kentucky August 31, 2006, 1:30 p.m. Room 103, Main Building

The Nominating Committee meeting was called to order at 1:35 p.m. Attending the meeting were Frank Shoop (Chair), Steve Branscum, Dermontti Dawson, and Barbara Young. Mr. Shoop affirmed that a quorum was present and that business could be conducted.

Mr. Shoop said that the minutes of the August 17, 2006 meeting had been distributed to the committee. He asked if there were any corrections to the minutes. Mr. Branscum made a motion to approve the minutes. His motion was seconded by Ms. Young and carried without dissent.

Mr. Shoop reported that there were two items on the agenda. The first item was the Nomination of Officers. He reminded the committee of their discussion regarding officers of the Board at the August 17 meeting. He said that he had talked to practically every member of the Board, and the consensus is that the current officers remain in place for another year. He asked for a motion to approve the current officers if that was still the desire of the committee. The current officers are as follows:

James Hardymon, Chair JoEtta Wickliffe, Vice Chair Pam May, Secretary Barbara Jones, Assistant Secretary

Mr. Branscum said that he fully supported the slate of officers and moved that they be approved. Mr. Dawson seconded his motion, and it carried without dissent.

Mr. Shoop said that the second item on the agenda was Nomination of Executive Committee. He reported that it was the general consensus of the Board for the current members to be reappointed with the exception of Roy Moore and Steven Reed who are no longer on the Board. Mr. Dawson suggested that Steve Branscum and Myra Tobin be appointed to replace Dr. Moore and Mr. Reed. A discussion followed regarding the talent, commitment, and involvement of the Board members. Mr. Dawson then moved that the following members be nominated to serve on the Executive Committee:

James F. Hardymon, Chair Steve Branscum Myra Tobin JoEtta Wickliffe Billy Wilcoxson Pam May, ex officio Ms. Young seconded Mr. Dawson's motion, and it passed without dissent. Mr. Branscum abstained from voting.

As there was no other business, Mr. Dawson moved that the meeting adjourn. Mr. Branscum seconded the motion, and the meeting adjourned at 1:48 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Frank Shoop Chair