## **MINUTES**

Meeting of the Nominating Committee
Board of Trustees
University of Kentucky
December 14, 2004, 10:00 a.m.
Board Room, First Floor, Main Building

The meeting was called to order at 10:04 a.m. Attending the meeting were Frank Shoop (Chair), Steve Branscum, Michael Kennedy, and Barbara Young. Absent from the meeting was Alice Sparks. Mr. Shoop affirmed that a quorum was present.

In addition to members of the committee, the meeting was also attended by Board member Myra Tobin, General Counsel Barbara Jones, and Acting Executive Vice President for Finance and Administration Frank Butler.

Mr. Shoop said that the materials for the meeting had been distributed to the members of the committee. He asked if there were any corrections to the minutes of the September 21, 2004 meeting, and there was no discussion. On motion made by Ms. Young and seconded by Professor Kennedy, the minutes were approved without dissent.

Mr. Shoop said that NCR 1 is a recommendation for appointments to the University Hospital of the Albert B. Chandler Medical Center, Inc. Board of Directors. The appointments of Ms. Mira Ball and Ms. Marianne Smith Edge are recommended. Mr. Branscum moved that NCR 1 be approved. Ms. Young seconded his motion, and it carried without dissent.

Mr. Shoop said that NCR 2 is a recommendation for a reappointment to University of Kentucky Equine Research Foundation Board of Directors. The reappointment of Frank Shoop is recommended. Mr. Shoop abstained from voting. Professor Kennedy moved approval of NCR 2. Ms. Young seconded the motion, and it carried without dissent.

Mr. Shoop said that NCR 3 is a recommendation for appointments to the University of Kentucky Mining Engineering Foundation Board of Directors. The appointments of Dr. Roy Moore and Mr. Russ Williams are recommended. Professor Kennedy moved approval of NCR 3. Mr. Branscum seconded the motion, and it carried without dissent.

As there was no other business, Ms. Young moved that the meeting adjourn. Professor Kennedy seconded the motion, and the meeting adjourned at 10:14 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Frank Shoop Chair