MINUTES

Meeting of the Nominating Committee
Board of Trustees
University of Kentucky
April 6, 2004, 10:30 a.m.
18th Floor Patterson Office Tower, Room C

The meeting was called to order at 10: 30 a.m. by Chairperson Frank Shoop. Mr. Shoop welcomed attendees and thanked Janet Cabaniss for taking minutes in lieu of Peggy Way. Mr. Shoop asked for a roll call. Attending were Frank Shoop, Michael Kennedy, and Barbara Young. Absent were Alice Sparks, who was in another meeting held at the same time as the Nominating Committee meeting, and Robert Meriwether. Mr. Shoop affirmed that a quorum was present and that business could be conducted. In addition, the meeting was also attended by other board members and Barbara Jones, Acting General Counsel.

Mr. Shoop called for approval of the minutes of the September 10, 2003 meeting. A motion to approve was made by Ms. Young and seconded by Mr. Kennedy. There was no discussion, and the minutes were approved.

NCR1 was next on the agenda. It called for the appointment of Ms. Young to the University Hospital of the Albert B. Chandler Medical Center, Inc., Board of Directors. Mr. Shoop asked if there were any other nominations for the position, and hearing none, he called for a motion to close the nominations and approve the appointment of Ms. Young. Mr. Kennedy made that motion and Mr. Shoop seconded it. All approved and Mr. Shoop congratulated Ms. Young.

The last item on the agenda was the appointment of Barbara W. Jones as assistant secretary to the Board of Trustees. Mr. Shoop explained that the unfortunate death of Mr. Paul Van Booven had left the Board without an official assistant secretary since January and that Ms. Jones is the logical person to fill that vacancy. Mr. Shoop asked for other nominations for the position and heard none. Mr. Kennedy made a motion to accept Ms. Jones, and Ms. Young seconded it. Ms. Jones was approved unanimously and congratulated by Mr. Shoop.

As there was no other business, Mr. Shoop accepted a motion to adjourn the committee at 10:40 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Frank Shoop Chairperson