Minutes Board of Trustees Nominating Committee September 10, 2003

Minutes of the meeting of the Nominating Committee of the Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky, Wednesday, September 10, 2003.

The Nominating Committee met at 2:30 p.m. on Wednesday, September 17, 2002 in Room 104 of the Gillis Building.

Mr. Frank Shoop, Chairperson, called the meeting to order at 2:40 p.m.

Members present were Frank Shoop, Chairperson, Marianne Smith Edge, Michael Kennedy, Alice Sparks, and Barbara Young. Billy Joe Miles was absent from the meeting.

The administration was represented by Paul Van Booven, General Counsel.

Mr. Shoop said the purpose of the meeting was to discuss nominations for Board officers and the Executive Committee. He explained that when the new Board structure was revised, it was recommended that the officers serve two terms. The current officers are completing their first year. Mr. Shoop recommended that the current officers be nominated unless a member of the Committee wanted to make another nomination. Ms. Young said that she supported renaming the current officers, and Ms. Sparks agreed with Ms. Young.

Mr. Shoop reviewed the current list of officers:

Steve Reed, Chair JoEtta Wickliffe, Vice Chair Russ Williams, Secretary Paul Van Booven, Assistant Secretary

He asked for other nominations. Mr. Kennedy moved that the current list be approved. Ms. Smith Edge seconded his motion, and it carried without dissent.

Mr. Shoop reviewed the current list of Executive Committee members:

Steve Reed, Chair Paul Chellgren Marianne Smith Edge Robert Meriwether Vacant position (previously Claire Pomeroy) He noted that there were two vacancies to fill on the Committee since Mr. Chellgren's term expired June 30, 2003. He expressed that the Chair of the Finance Committee should be on the Executive Committee. Ms. Young agreed and nominated Mr. Hardymon to serve on the Committee. Ms. Sparks seconded her motion, and it carried without dissent.

A discussion followed regarding faculty serving on the Executive Committee, and a decision was made not to appoint a faculty member at this time. Professor Kennedy was in agreement with the decision.

There was a discussion regarding officers serving on the Committee. The members were in agreement that the Vice Chair should be a member of the Committee. Ms. Sparks made a motion to appoint JoEtta Wickliffe to the Committee, and Ms. Young seconded her motion. The motion carried without dissent.

Mr. Shoop asked if there was any further business to come before the Committee. He thanked the Nominating Committee members for attending the meeting and for serving on the Committee.

The meeting adjourned at 3:07 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Frank Shoop Chair, Nominating Committee