## Minutes Board of Trustees Nominating Committee September 17, 2002

Minutes of the meeting of the Nominating Committee of the Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky, Tuesday, September 17, 2002.

The Nominating Committee met at 10:00 a.m. on Tuesday, September 17, 2002 in Room H on the 18<sup>th</sup> Floor of Patterson Office Tower.

Mr. Frank Shoop, Chairperson, called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

Members present were Frank Shoop, Chairperson, Marianne Smith Edge, Pamela R. May, Claire Pomeroy, Alice Sparks, W. Grady Stumbo, and Russ Williams.

Other members of the Board of Trustees in attendance were Michael Kennedy and Myra Leigh Tobin. The administration was represented by Paul Van Booven, Acting General Counsel.

Dan Atkins, University of Kentucky, Office of Public Relations, and Linda Blackford, The Herald-Leader, were present.

Mr. Shoop said that the purpose of the meeting was to elect a slate of officers and members of the Executive Committee to present to the Board of Trustees at the 1:00 p.m. meeting.

Mr. Shoop presented Steven Reed's name for consideration as chair. On motion made by Alice Sparks, seconded by Marianne Smith Edge and carried, the Committee approved Steven Reed as nominee for chair.

Mr. Shoop presented JoEtta Wickliffe's name for consideration as vice chair. On motion made by Russ Williams, seconded by Claire Pomeroy and carried, the Committee approved JoEtta Wickliffe as nominee for vice chair.

Mr. Shoop reported that there were two names for consideration as secretary, and there would be a roll call vote. The names were Russ Williams and Barbara Young. He asked for any comments from the members of the Committee and a discussion about the nominees and whether members of the Nominating Committee should be considered as nominees for officers followed. Ms. Edge said that the issue could be put on the upcoming Board retreat agenda for further discussion. It was noted that all members of the Board are qualified to serve as officers and as members of the Executive Committee.

Mr. Shoop asked Peggy Way to call the roll. The roll call vote follows:

Marianne Smith Edge
Pamela R. May
Claire Pomeroy
Russ Williams
C. Frank Shoop
Barbara Young
Alice Sparks
Russ Williams
W. Grady Stumbo
Russ Williams
Abstained

Mr. Shoop reported that Russ Williams received the majority vote.

Mr. Shoop presented the name of Paul Van Booven as Assistant Secretary for consideration by the Committee. On motion made by Dr. Pomeroy, seconded by Ms. May and carried, the Committee approved Paul Van Booven as nominee for assistant secretary.

The following slate of nominees was approved for submission to the Board:

Chair Steven Reed
Vice-Chair JoEtta Wickliffe
Secretary Russ Williams
Assistant Secretary Paul Van Booven

Mr. Shoop presented the following names as nominees for the Executive Committee:

Steven Reed, Chair Paul Chellgren Robert Meriwether Marianne Smith-Edge Claire Pomeroy

A discussion about the nominees followed. On motion made by Ms. Sparks, seconded by Ms. May and carried, the slate of nominees for the Executive Committee was approved.

The meeting adjourned at 10:40 a.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Frank Shoop Chairman