Minutes Academic Affairs Committee Board of Trustees June 14, 2011

The Academic Affairs Committee of the Board of Trustees met in Room A, 18th Floor Patterson Office Tower at 8:30 a.m. on June 14. Penny Brown called the meeting to order. The following members were in attendance: Dermontti Dawson, Keith Gannon, Joe Peek, Charles Sachatello and Barbara Young.

Ms. Brown distributed the minutes of the May 3, 2011 meeting and asked for any corrections or additions. There being no changes, a motion was made by Barbara Young to accept the minutes as distributed and seconded by Dermontti Dawson. The motion was unanimously approved.

AACR 1: Candidates for Degrees - Resolution requesting authorization for the President to confer degrees upon each individual identified on the attached list, upon certification that the requirements for those degrees have been satisfactorily completed. A motion was made by Dermontti Dawson to approve the recommendation and seconded by Barbara Young. The motion was unanimously approved.

AACR 2: Creation of the Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery – Resolution requesting approval for the creation of the Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery in the College of Medicine, effective July 1, 2011. When the Division of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery was founded in 1988, most Otolaryngology programs in the United States were divisions of a large, unified Department of Surgery. Medicine has changed dramatically so that surgeons of different specialties have much less in common with one another than they did in the past. As subspecialization has increased, there has been less and less overlap with other surgical services and otolaryngology has assumed the clear leadership role in the management of head and neck oncology in addition to its more traditional areas of nasal, sinus, ear and throat disorders. As the practice of the various specialties has diversified, the areas of commonality have lessened.

In August 2010 the Dean of the College of Medicine appointed a committee to evaluate the strengths and weaknesses of the Otolaryngology program, suggest strategies to improve the program and recommend whether or not Otolaryngology should remain a division of surgery or become an independent department. The committee unanimously recommended that Otolaryngology become a department and believes that such a move would be another step in helping the University of Kentucky and the College of Medicine to achieve top 20 status. A motion was made by Charles Sachatello to approve the recommendation and seconded by Barbara Young. The motion was unanimously approved.

<u>AACR 3: Change in Degree - Gatton College of Business and Economics</u> – Resolution requesting approval a change in the name of the Bachelor of Business Administration with a major in Decision Science and Information Systems to Bachelor of Business Administration with a major in Analytics (CIP Code: 52.1301, PROG BBA ANLY), effective in the Fall 2011

Semester. The Decision Science and Information Systems (DSIS) Area within the School of Management seeks to change the name of its undergraduate major to better reflect the training the students receive in the use of computers, software, and data to generate and solve visual, analytical, and judgmental models of decision problems to help make more-informed, fact-based decisions. The DSIS name, and variants of it, were popular academic choices in the 70s and 80s. Today the industry name is Business Analytics or Analytics. Analytics is widely practiced by several Fortune 500 firms with increasing adoption by others. Renaming the DSIS undergraduate major will offer better marketplace recognition and result in a stronger program. A motion was made by Dermontti Dawson to approve the recommendation and seconded by Barbara Young. The motion was unanimously approved.

AACR 4: Deletion of Degree – College of Education – Resolution requesting approval for the deletion of the Master of Arts in Education degree with a major in Education – Distributive Education (CIP Code 13.1320, PROG GS MAEDU EDED), effective fall 2011 semester. The consolidation of academic programs in Agriculture, Vocational Education and Human Environmental Sciences and the movement of faculty from the College of Education resulted in the Board of Trustees approving the dissolution of the Department of Vocational Education at its April 4, 1995 meeting. All students have since matriculated through the program and the degree is being deleted. A motion was made by Dermontti Dawson to approve the recommendation and seconded by Keith Gannon. The motion was unanimously approved.

AACR 5: Proposed Amendment to Governing Regulations: Faculty Entrepreneurial Leave - Resolution requesting approval of the proposed amendment to Governing Regulation X (GR X) relating to faculty leaves of absence, which was received for preliminary consideration as AACR 6 on May 3, 2011. The proposed revision creates an entrepreneurial leave for faculty employees who wish to take time off from their University position to pursue entrepreneurial activities. A motion was made by Keith Gannon to approve the recommendation and seconded by Dermontti Dawson. The motion was unanimously approved.

Ms. Brown thanked everyone for attending and adjourned the meeting at 9:00 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Penelope A. Brown Academic Affairs Committee