Minutes Academic Affairs Committee Board of Trustees December 7, 2010

The Academic Affairs Committee of the Board of Trustees met in Room A, 18th Floor Patterson Office Tower at 9:30 a.m. on December 7. Penny Brown called the meeting to order. The following members were in attendance: Dermontti Dawson, Keith Gannon, Joe Peek, Charles Sachatello and Barbara Young.

Ms. Brown distributed the minutes of the June 8, 2010 meeting and asked for any corrections or additions. There being no changes, a motion was made by Dermontti Dawson to accept the minutes as distributed and seconded by Barbara Young. The motion was unanimously approved.

<u>AACR 1: Candidates for Degrees</u> - Resolution requesting authorization for the President to confer degrees upon each individual identified on the attached list, upon certification that the requirements for those degrees have been satisfactorily completed. Since the University will hold its first December commencement ceremonies immediately following the completion of examinations, it is not possible for the university registrar to certify satisfactory completion of requirements prior to the ceremonies for those candidates who complete the requirements in December. A motion was made by Charles Sachatello to approve the recommendation and seconded by Dermontti Dawson. The motion was unanimously approved.

<u>AACR 2: Candidate for Degree Bluegrass Community and Technical College</u> – Resolution requesting authorization for the President to confer degrees upon each individual identified on the attached list, upon certification by the Kentucky Community and Technical College System Board and the University of Kentucky Registrar that the requirements for the degree has been satisfactorily completed. On July 1, 2004, a Memorandum of Agreement among the University of Kentucky, the Kentucky Community and Technical College System, and Lexington Community College (LCC) pursuant to House Joint Resolution 214 was approved. The agreement states that LCC students who were or are officially enrolled on or before September, 2004, in associate degree programs approved by the UK Board of Trustees and who complete the associate degree program on or before August 31, 2010, shall have their degrees conferred by the UK Board of Trustees. A motion was made by Charles Sachatello to approve the recommendation and seconded by Barbara Young. The motion was unanimously approved.

Dr. Subbaswamy introduced Dr. Diane M. Snow, Endowed Chair, Spinal Cord and Brain Injury Research Center and Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology. He told the committee that even though we have had an Office of Undergraduate Research for some time, we have never had a faculty director. He announced that Dr. Snow was named the Director on November 1.

Dr. Snow has set major goals for the Office of Undergraduate Research, including increasing student and faculty awareness campus wide; increasing awareness of what research is across campus, and compiling a database of students that have been involved in undergraduate research experiences.

The Office is dedicated to providing coordination, leadership and support for students and faculty and assists with pairing students with faculty mentors. They are organizing the "Annual Showcase of Undergraduate Scholars" where students will have an opportunity to showcase their research and creative works and "Posters-at-the-Capitol" where students will showcase their research at the Kentucky State Capitol for the governor and members of the legislature.

Ms. Brown thanked everyone for attending and adjourned the meeting at 10:12 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Penelope A. Brown Academic Affairs Committee