Minutes Academic Affairs Committee Board of Trustees March 6, 2007

The Academic Affairs Committee of the Board of Trustees met in Room A, 18th Floor Patterson Office Tower at 10:0 a.m. on March 6, 2007. Myra Tobin, Chair of the Academic Affairs Committee, called the meeting to order. The following members were in attendance: Penny Brown, Ann Haney, and Ernie Yanarella.

<u>AACR 1: Candidates for Degrees Bluegrass Community and Technical College</u> – Resolution requesting authorization for the President to confer degrees upon each individual identified on an attached list, upon certification by the Kentucky Community and Technical College System Board and the University of Kentucky Registrar that the requirements for those degrees have been satisfactorily completed. A motion was made by Ann Haney to approve the recommendation. The motion was unanimously approved.

AACR 2: Creation of the Department of Neurosurgery – Resolution requesting approval to create the Department of Neurosurgery by separating the current Division of Neurosurgery from the Department of Surgery. The proposal received initial impetus from the Strategic Planning process initiated by the Executive Vice President for Health Affairs, resulting in a recommendation that Neurosciences be a focus of clinical expansion and that the creation of a freestanding department of neurosurgery was material to that expansion. When last surveyed, 82 percent of U.S. allopathic medical schools had freestanding departments of neurosurgery. Given that this is the standard, the importance to the College of Medicine in joining these ranks centers largely around the ability to recruit academic neurosurgical faculty and leadership. Faculty and future chairs will have the expectation in considering positions at the University of Kentucky that programming and priorities will be theirs to develop in conjunction with College and University leadership, rather than through the filter of a parent surgical department. The College, UK HealthCare, and the University must be competitive in its structure when competing for the best neurosurgical faculty. A motion was made by Ernie Yanarella to approve the recommendation. The motion was unanimously approved.

<u>AACR 3: Proposed Amendments to Administrative Regulation: Non-Resident Fee Committee</u> – Resolution requesting approval of the revisions to Administrative Regulation III-1.1-4, Non-Resident Fee Committee. The proposed revisions are intended to make the Administrative Regulation more consistent with regulations promulgated by the Council on Postsecondary Education (CPE) and the current university organization. After a brief discussion, a motion was made by Penny Brown to approve the recommendation. The motion was unanimously approved.

Dr. Philipp Kraemer, Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education was welcomed by Ms. Tobin. Dr. Kraemer reported that The Chellgren Center has been in existence since August 2005 thanks to the generosity of Paul Chellgren. The Chellgren Center for Undergraduate Excellence is a collection of premier programs to help improve undergraduate education. The endowment of \$2.25 million, matched by the state creating a \$4.5 million endowment, will be used to support the Chellgren Endowed Chair, endowed Professorships, and help talented students compete for prestigious scholarships. Dr. Kraemer announced that two professors have recently been named as Chellgren Professors: Joanna Badagliacco from the Department of Sociology, and Ernie Yanarella from the Department of Political Science.

Dr. Yanarella told the committee there is a "buzz" on campus about The Chellgren Center" and faculty are excited and eager to improve undergraduate education. His project, which recently received funding by the Kentucky Education Cabinet, is to support environmental and sustainability education in the undergraduate curriculum.

Dr. Subbaswamy introduced Dr. Heidi Anderson, Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs, for an update on faculty recruitment and retention. Dr. Anderson gave a brief overview of the responsibilities of her office. She reported that in 2005 the University had 131 new faculty hires with 105 departures (83 resignations and 22 retirements) and in 2006 there were 136 new faculty hires with120 departures (102 resignations and 18 retirements). The University of Kentucky data is similar to other institutions of higher education.

The university has established a "Fighting Fund" to help with faculty retention. In addition, recruitment efforts have been increased to attract candidates. A major advertisement was placed in the December issue of the Chronicle of Higher Education to encourage faculty to come to UK and a website has been set up to give information about the campus and community. Heidi encouraged everyone to visit the site at <u>www.uky.edu/professors/</u>.

Dr. Subbaswamy told the Academic Affairs Committee that attracting and retaining outstanding faculty often involved dual career couples. He introduced two newly hired faculty, Dr. Leon Sachs, Department of Modern and Classical Languages, Literatures and Cultures and Dr. Pearl James, Department of English and asked them to talk about their recruitment to the University of Kentucky.

Dr. James talked about her excitement to come to the University of Kentucky because of the colleagues. However, family issues were central in the decision making process. Dr. Sachs said institutional culture and morale are instrumental in making a career change. Dr. Subbaswamy credited several colleges for being very successful with dual career hiring. The smaller colleges rely more heavily on central resources, but it is imperative that we be able to offer complete packages to faculty.

Ms. Tobin thanked Dr. James and Dr. Sachs for attending the meeting and expressed her delight that they have joined the faculty at the University of Kentucky. The meeting was adjourned at 11:08 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Myra Tobin, Chair Academic Affairs Committee