Minutes Academic Affairs Committee Board of Trustees January 23, 2007

The Academic Affairs Committee of the Board of Trustees met in Room A, 18<sup>th</sup> Floor Patterson Office Tower at 9:30 a.m. on January 23, 2007. Myra Tobin, Chair of the Academic Affairs Committee, called the meeting to order. The following members were in attendance: Ann Haney, Ernie Yanarella and Barbara Young.

<u>AACR 1: Academic Degree Recommendation</u> – Resolution requesting approval of the establishment of a Doctor of Philosophy degree with a major in Education Sciences. The Ph.D. in Education Sciences is an interdisciplinary degree representing collaboration and participation across five of the six departments within the College of Education to better prepare students to meet the growing statewide and national need for educators who are well trained in methodological issues in education research. A motion was made by Ernie Yanarella to approve the recommendation. The motion was unanimously approved.

<u>AACR 2: Establishment of the Institute for Workplace Innovation</u> – Resolution requesting the establishment of the Institute for Workplace Innovation in the College of Social Work. The proposed Institute will enhance workplace productivity in the changing economy by providing employees with knowledge and opportunities related to innovative practices that enable the creation of quality work environments while ensuring a balance between employee commitment to work and family. The Institute for Workplace Innovation is committed to engaging employers in the adoption, implementation, and utilization of innovative workplace solutions which benefit employees and employers; developing a regionally based research agenda focused on the workforce and economy in the 21<sup>st</sup> century; and affecting public discussion about the employer, employee, and economic benefits associated with innovative workplace options.

During a general discussion of the proposed institute, Dr. Yanarella inquired about University Senate approval of the proposal. Not being able to verify Senate approval at the time, he moved the recommendation be tabled for further discussion and potential action at the March meeting. The motion was unanimously approved.

Dr. Subbaswamy introduced Dr. David Bettez, Director of the Office of International Affairs. Dr. Bettez thanked Ms. Tobin and Dr. Subbaswamy for the opportunity to talk about the OIA mission of facilitating and increasing international activities both on and off campus. Dr. Bettez noted there are fourteen hundred international students from over a hundred countries attending the University of Kentucky, as well as two hundred international postdocs.

The heart and soul of International Affairs is the service provided to international students, faculty and staff. The office is fully engaged in immigration advising, which is very important to the research enterprise. The office also assists international students with housing, student health insurance and community relations.

There are exciting changes taking place in International Affairs. A new software package to help manage study abroad programs and students has been purchased. Dr. Subbaswamy has

identified campus internationalization as one of his top priorities as reflected in the 2006-2009 Strategic Plan and he will be appointing an Internationalization Task Force to thoroughly examine international efforts. The University of Kentucky would like to be one of the top three SEC schools sending over a thousand students abroad each year and increase the enrollment of undergraduate international students.

After general questions, Ms. Tobin thanked Dr. Bettez for his report. She stressed the need and importance of a well rounded academic experience for all students. The meeting was adjourned at 10:05 a.m.

After receiving additional information from the Provost Office that the University Senate approved the Institute for Workplace Innovation at its December meeting, the Academic Affairs Committee reconvened to reconsider AACR 2 before the Board meeting. A motion was made by Barbara Young to approve the recommendation. The motion was unanimously approved.

Respectfully submitted,

Myra Tobin, Chair Academic Affairs Committee