Minutes Academic Affairs Committee Board of Trustees June 13, 2006

The Academic Affairs Committee of the Board of Trustees met in Room A, 18<sup>th</sup> Floor Patterson Office Tower at 8:30 a.m. on June13, 2006. Myra Tobin, Chair of the Academic Affairs Committee, called the meeting to order. The following members of the Committee were in attendance: Ann Haney, Roy Moore, Penny Brown and Barbara Young.

Ms. Tobin distributed the minutes of the March 7, 2006 meeting and asked for any corrections or additions. There being no changes, a motion was made by Ann Haney to accept the minutes as distributed. The motion was unanimously approved.

<u>AACR 1: Academic Degree Changes</u> - Resolution requesting approval to make changes to the following three academic degrees: 1) Change the name of the College of Agriculture's Bachelor of Science in Agriculture, Education, Communication and Leadership with a major in Agriculture Education, Communication and Leadership to Bachelor of Science in Community Communications and Leadership Development with a major in Communications and Leadership Development; 2) Create a Plan B option to the Master of Science in Dentistry; and 3) Change the name of the College of Engineering's Master of Science with a major in Computer Science to Master of Science in Computer Science with a major in Computer Science.

After a general discussion, a motion was made by Roy Moore to approve the recommendation. The motion was unanimously approved.

<u>AACR 2: Change in Name of an Interdisciplinary Program</u> – Resolution requesting approval to change the name of the College of Arts and Sciences' Women's Studies Program to Gender and Women's Studies Program. A motion was made by Barbara Young to approve the recommendation. The motion was unanimously approved.

Dr. Moore introduced Dr. Kaveh A. Tagavi, Chair of the Senate Council. Ms. Tobin welcomed Dr. Tagavi and thanked Dr. Moore for his services on the Academic Affairs Committee and the Board. She wished him success in his future pursuits.

Dr. Smith thanked the committee for their support during the past year while he was Interim Provost and introduced the Provost Elect, Dr. Kumble Subbaswamy. Dr. Subbaswamy told the committee he was happy to be coming home again. He looks forward to working with the Board of Trustees and Academic Affairs Committee to make UK one of the leading universities.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:05 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Myra Tobin, Chair Academic Affairs Committee