## Minutes Academic Affairs Committee Board of Trustees September 21, 2004

The Academic Affairs Committee of the Board of Trustees met in the Board Room, 18<sup>th</sup> Floor Patterson Office Tower at 9:00 a.m. on September 21, 2004. Alice Sparks, Chair of the Academic Affairs Committee, called the meeting to order. The following members of the Committee were in attendance: Michael Kennedy, Elaine Wilson and Barbara Young.

Ms. Sparks distributed the minutes of the June 22, 2004 meeting and asked for any corrections or additions. There being no corrections or additions, a motion was made by Barbara Young to accept the minutes as distributed. The motion was unanimously approved.

Ms. Sparks introduced the following resolutions, which will be presented for approval at the Board of Trustee meeting:

<u>AACR 1 Candidates for Degrees - University System</u> – Resolution requesting that the degrees specified on an attached list be awarded to the persons named, upon certification that the requirements for those degrees have been satisfactorily completed. After a brief discussion, a motion was made by Barbara Young to approve the recommendation. The motion was unanimously approved.

<u>AACR 2 Candidates for Degrees - Community College System</u> – Resolution requesting that the degrees specified on an attached list be awarded to the persons named, upon certification that the requirements for those degrees have been satisfactorily completed. After a brief discussion, a motion was made by Barbara Young to approve the recommendation. The motion was unanimously approved.

<u>AACR 3 Change of Organizational Structure of the Tracy Farmer Center for the Environment</u> – Resolution requesting the Board of Trustees approve the transfer of administrative oversight for the Tracy Farmer Center for the Environment from the Executive Vice President for Research to the Dean, College of Agriculture, effective October 1, 2004. Dr. Mike Nietzel reminded the committee that the Center was created as a result of a \$2 million gift by Carol and Tracy Farmer. As the center developed, it became evident that its reassignment to the College of Agriculture would be in the best interested of all involved. Dr. Scott Smith, Dean of the College of Agriculture, assured the Committee that the mission of the Center would remain multidisciplinary. After a brief discussion of the activities of the center, Barbara Young moved to approve the recommendation. The motion was unanimously approved.

<u>AACR 4 Change of Organizational Structure of the Graduate Center for Toxicology</u> – Resolution requesting the Board of Trustees approve the transfer of administrative oversight for the Graduate Center for Toxicology from the Dean of the Graduate School to the Dean, College of Medicine, effective September 1, 2004. Dr. Nietzel summarized activities of the Futures Task Force concerning the Graduate Center. The decision was made to transfer the Center to the College of Medicine because of the closely aligned research missions. After a brief discussion, a motion was made by Barbara Young to approve the recommendation. The motion was unanimously approved.

<u>AACR 5 Robinson Forest Timber Management</u> – Resolution requesting the Board of Trustees endorse the Robinson Forest Sustainable Management Guidelines, associated research plan, and the proposed allocation of future timber revenue. As a result of the Board discussion last year concerning Robinson Forest, Dr. Scott Smith told the Committee that the College took the opportunity to review the Forest management and research potential. Two primary objectives guide the proposed plan. 1) to further advance the excellence and impact of research and education conducted at the Forest and 2) to use accessible resources and income to best support the goals of the E. O. Robinson trust, while sustaining the ecological and scientific value of the Forest. Ms. Katherine Adams, Office of Legal Counsel, reviewed the history of how the University acquired the property and language in the original trust. A motion was made by Michael Kennedy to approve the recommendation. The motion was unanimously approved.

## Faculty Departure Report

Dr. Nietzel introduced Dr. Connie Ray, Vice President for Institutional Research, Planning and Effectiveness. Dr. Ray distributed information concerned faculty departures from the University during 2003-04 with selected examples of faculty departures to other institutions. Ms. Sparks thanked Dr. Ray for providing the data.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:00 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Alice Sparks, Chair Academic Affairs Committee