## Minutes Academic Affairs Committee Board of Trustees April 6, 2004

The Academic Affairs Committee of the Board of Trustees met in Room C, 18<sup>th</sup> Floor Patterson Office Tower at 9:00 a.m. on April 6, 2004. Alice Sparks, Chair of the Academic Affairs Committee, called the meeting to order. The following members of the Committee were in attendance: Michael Kennedy, Michael Kennedy, Elaine Wilson, and Barbara Young. Other Board members in attendance: Davy Jones and JoEtta Wickliffe.

Ms. Sparks started the meeting by asking Dr. Nietzel for an update on recent actions pertaining the Early Childhood Education program. Dr. Nietzel announced that the MS program in Early Childhood Education will move to the College of Education. The Department of Family Studies currently has four faculty lines, two of which will be moved to the College of Education. The Early Childhood Laboratory will remain in its current physical location until other options can be explored. This action is consistent with the recommendation of the Task Force and preserves the Ph.D. in Family Studies.

Board members asked general questions of Dr. Scott Smith, Dean of the College of Agriculture, and Dr. Jim Cibulka, Dean of the College of Education. No action pertaining to the Early Childhood Education program was required by the Academic Affairs Committee.

Ms. Sparks introduced the following resolutions, which are to be presented for approval at the Board of Trustee meeting:

AACR 1 Joint Bachelor of Science Degree Program in Mechanical Engineering and Joint Bachelor of Science Degree Program in Civil Engineering with Western Kentucky University. Resolution requesting that the Board of Trustees approve the establishment of a joint Bachelor of Science Degree in Mechanical Engineering and a joint Bachelor of Science Degree in Civil Engineering with Western Kentucky University.

Dr. Nietzel introduced Dr. G. T. Lineberry, Associate Dean for Commonwealth and International Programs in the College of Engineering, who has been very instrumental in getting the program to this stage. Dr. Nietzel explained that the two joint programs are part of the *Strategy for Statewide Engineering Education in Kentucky* developed in 2000 to encourage efficient use of resources to meet the statewide demand for engineering professionals. UK Engineering faculty will teach a minimum of 16 hours of engineering coursework to students graduating from the programs.

The joint programs with Western Kentucky University have been under development for quite some time. It is the desire of the UK Engineering faculty that the joint programs are of high quality, and produce degrees comparable to degrees earned at UK. A special state appropriation in support of the joint-degree programs has been made to the universities participating in the statewide engineering program.

After a general discussion of the program, a motion was made by Elaine Wilson to approve the recommendation. The motion was unanimously approved.

<u>AACR 2 Candidates for Degrees—Community College System</u> - Resolution requesting that the degrees specified on an attached list be awarded to the persons named, upon certification that the requirements for those degrees have been satisfactory completed. After a brief discussion, a motion was made by Elaine Wilson to approve the recommendation. The motion was unanimously approved.

## **SACS Update**

Dr. Nietzel informed committee members that the University had received a request from the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) for a Second Follow-Up Report addressing four of the visiting committee's recommendations. Dr. Connie Ray, Vice President for Institutional Research, Planning, and Effectiveness, summarized the recommendations which pertain to courses that involve combined instruction for undergraduate and graduate students, faculty credentials, graduate teaching assistants, and academic preparation for graduate teaching assistants. Dr. Nietzel and Dr. Ray outlined the University's proposed plan for responding to each of the recommendations.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:00 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Alice Sparks, Chair Academic Affairs Committee