## Minutes Academic Affairs Committee Board of Trustees October 29, 2003

The Academic Affairs Committee of the Board of Trustees met in Room C, 18<sup>th</sup> Floor Patterson Office Tower at 11:00 a.m. on October 29, 2003. Alice Sparks, Chair of the Academic Affairs Committee, called the meeting to order. The following members of the Committee were in attendance: Michael Kennedy, Elissa Plattner, Elaine Wilson, and Barbara Young. Others in attendance: Bob Shay, Barbara Lewis, Davy Jones, Rachel Watts, Russ Williams, Billy Joe Miles, Jo Etta Wickliffe, Mike Nietzel and Kris Hobson.

Ms. Sparks reported that the minutes of the September 15, 2003 meeting were included in the materials distributed and asked for any corrections or additions. There being no corrections or additions, a motion was made by Elaine Wilson to accept the minutes as distributed. The motion was unanimously approved.

Ms. Sparks introduced the following resolutions, which are to be presented for approval at the October 29, 2003 Board of Trustee meeting:

<u>AACR 1 Doctor of Philosophy Degree in Theatre Practice</u> - Resolution requesting the Board of Trustees approve the establishment of a Doctor of Philosophy in Theatre Practice degree program in the College of Fine Arts.

Dr. Nietzel presented background information relating to AACR 1 and introduced Bob Shay, Dean of the College of Fine Arts and Barbara Lewis, Chair of the Department of Theatre Arts. After a general discussion, a motion was made by Michael Kennedy to approve the recommendation. The motion was unanimously approved.

AACR 2 Change of Organizational Structure of the Center on Drug and Alcohol Research – Resolution requesting the Board of Trustees approve the transfer of administrative oversight for the Center on Drug and Alcohol Research from the Executive Vice President for Research to the Dean, College of Medicine.

Dr. Nietzel gave a brief overview of the charge to the Futures Task Force to make recommendations concerning the administrative reporting relationships for the centers and institutes currently reporting to the Vice President for Research. The Task Force responded by recommending that several centers and institutes would be better aligned with a specific college. He also stated the report of the Periodic External Review Committee of the Center on Drug and Alcohol Research included as one of its major recommendations the transfer of the Center to the College of Medicine. After a brief discussion, a motion was made by Elaine Wilson to approve the recommendation. The motion was unanimously approved.

<u>AACR 3 Change in Name of An Educational Unit</u> – Resolution requesting the Board of Trustees to approve the change in the name of the Department of Ophthalmology to the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences.

Dr. Nietzel stated that the name change reflects the desire to advance a strong research mission and increase collaborative opportunities. The addition of "Visual Sciences" conveys to the lay and professional communities that the department is not only a center of clinical excellence but also one with research interests. A motion was made by Barbara Young to approve the recommendation. The motion was unanimously approved.

Ms. Sparks briefly discussed issues that will need to be considered by the committee in the coming months and the need for additional meeting time. Due to the importance of the committee, all members agreed that at least an hour should be devoted to the Academic Affairs Committee before Board meetings.

Ms. Sparks adjourned the meeting at 11:40 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Alice Sparks Chair Academic Affairs Committee