PR 5

Office of the President March 9, 2005

Members, Board of Trustees:

UNIVERSITY RESEARCH PROFESSORSHIPS

<u>Recommendation</u>: that the Board of Trustees approve the naming of Professors Sylvia Daunert, Department of Chemistry, Linda P. Dwoskin, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Stephen W. Scheff, Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology, and Isaac Shlosman, Department of Physics and Astronomy, as University Research Professors for 2005-06.

<u>Background</u>: In April 1976, the University Senate recommended to the President the establishment of one-year Research Professorships and that priority be given to the goal of establishing permanent Research Professorships as funds became available. At its meeting in May 1976, the University of Kentucky Research Foundation voted to support one-year Research Professorships to be activated in the fall of 1977. The Board of Trustees named the first Research Professors at its meeting on March 8, 1977.

The purpose of the University Research Professorships is to enhance and encourage scholarly research productivity, provide an opportunity for concentrated research effort for selected faculty members, recognize outstanding research achievement by members of its faculty, emphasize its research function, and publicize its research accomplishments in order that the research function of the university be appropriately recognized and understood.